Andrew Rosindell and Julia Lopez could cling onto their seats at the upcoming general election despite dire polling nationally for the Conservatives.

Yesterday evening (May 3), YouGov released its first big poll of the election campaign which suggested Labour could win 422 seats on July 4.

This would lead to a wipeout of hundreds of Conservative MPs across the country, with Chancellor Jeremy Hunt and Penny Mordaunt among potential high-profile casualties.

Romford Recorder: Andrew Rosindell has served as Romford MP since 2001Andrew Rosindell has served as Romford MP since 2001 (Image: Charles Thomson)

But in Havering, it appears that voters could buck the national trend, and re-elect its two Conservative MPs.

According to the latest poll, Andrew Rosindell would retain his seat in Romford alongside Julia Lopez in Hornchurch and Upminster.

They face stiff competition however, as a Labour victory in both seats sits within the poll’s margin of error.

In Romford, the Conservatives are currently projected to win 37.8 per cent of the vote, with Labour just two points behind on 35.5pc.

Romford Recorder: Julia Lopez is standing again in Hornchurch and UpminsterJulia Lopez is standing again in Hornchurch and Upminster (Image: Parliament)

A Conservative victory appears more likely in Hornchurch and Upminster, where Ms Lopez is polling at 38pc compared to her Labour challenger’s 33.4pc.

Nigel Farage’s Reform UK party is expected to finish third in both races.

There is still a month to go until the people Havering, and the rest of the country, go to the polls, so expect these numbers to change in the coming days and weeks.

So far, the declared candidates in Romford are:

  • Andrew Achilleos – Labour
  • Thomas Clarke – Liberal Democrats
  • David Hughes – Green
  • Phillip Joseph Hyde – Reform
  • Asim Muhammad – Workers Party of Britain
  • Andrew Rosindell – Conservatives

In Hornchurch and Upminster, four candidates have announced they are running:

  • Sunny Brar – Labour
  • Melanie Collins – Green
  • Julia Lopez – Conservatives
  • Nicholas Palmer – Reform

The official final candidate list for each constituency will be published on Friday (June 7).