Schools in east London with dangerous Raac concrete have been named.

The Department for Education (DfE) has today (September 6) named the full list of schools with confirmed reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (Raac), as of August 30.

  • East London has five schools with Raac:
  • Lambourne Primary School in Romford
  • Seven Mills Primary School in Tower Hamlets
  • St Francis' Catholic Primary School in Newham,
  • The Coopers' Company and Coborn School in Upminster
  • The Palmer Catholic Academy in Ilford

This comes after Coopers' in Upminster was forced to shut "significant areas" of its building over fears of "unsafe concrete".

In total, there are 147 schools where collapse-prone Raac has been confirmed and action has been taken.

RELATED NEWS: Parts of Coopers’ Company and Coborn School shut over concrete safety

There are four types of action that can be taken:

Students may be relocated on a nearby site for continued face-to-face learning.

A mix of in-person and remote arrangements could be made.

The start of term could be delayed to allow for accomodation to be finalised.

Pupils will begin with remote learning while arrangements are made.

Additional reporting from PA.